LUFA in solidarity with Laurentian University students

(SUDBURY – Feb. 5, 2021)

The faculty at Laurentian University, like the students, are shocked by the formal announcement that Laurentian University is filing under the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA).   

To best support students during these difficult times, we are assembling a student liaison committee with a mandate to foster student-faculty relationships and open communication.  We have already been in contact with some student leaders and will be reaching out to others to join this committee.   

The faculty members are:   

Charles Daviau – Arts   
Tanya Shute – Health   
Luckny Zephir – Management   
Ashley Thomson – Library/Archives
Jennifer Straub – Education   
Ramesh Subramanian – Science, Engineering and Architecture
Réal Fillion – University of Sudbury   
Natasha Gerolami – Huntington University    
Thorneloe University (to be confirmed)   

The first task for the committee is to develop a FAQ for students which we hope to send out next week. We will then be organizing a town hall where students can feel free to join and ask questions. If there are students who are able to participate in coordinating this initiative, please contact Robyn Gorham at [email protected].   

In solidarity, 
The Laurentian University Faculty Association